Friday, February 11, 2011

CNN: Mubarak leaves Cairo...

[Update 5:32 p.m in Cairo, 10:32 a.m. ET] Tanks guarding the presidential palace in Cairo turned their turrets away from approaching demonstrators, eliciting a huge cheer from the crowd, CNN's Ivan Watson reported.

[Update 4:37 p.m. in Cairo, 9:37 ET] President Hosni Mubarak has gone to the Egyptian Sinai city of Sharm el-Sheikh, a well-placed source with close connections to government figures in the Gulf told CNN on Friday. There will be an "important statement" soon from the office of Egypt's president, state TV reported.

No comments: